This was one of those rare weeks where new music came right to me, and a lot of it you’ll find on this playlist.

Here a few songs that I’ve had on repeat:

B.B. King – “The Thrill Is Gone”

Last weekend my girlfriend and I were wandering down South Street looking for a place to escape the cold. We chose Jet Wine Bar, for no reason other than it meant being inside somewhere.

There were just two other patrons sitting at the rounded bar that sat no more than 15 people, and an episode of Lost was playing muted on the flat screen above rows of liquor bottles.

This place was quirky but in the best way possible. I knew we were in the right place the moment I recognized new A Tribe Called Quest tunes coming from the speakers. For the hour or so we were there, soul and funk hits from all time periods just kept coming. D’Angelo, Ike & Tina Turner…and finally B.B. King.

King’s cover of “The Thrill Is Gone” was released as a single in 1969 and earned him a Grammy in 1970. In 2011, Rolling Stone named it No. 183 in its list of the 500 Greatest Songs of All Time. It’s a slow toe-tapper with a beautiful interplay between strings and King’s guitar solos, showcasing a blues legend doing what he did best.

Father John Misty – “Real Love Baby”

My brother sent me a text last Friday night from a friend’s wedding he was attending. He said the bride and groom had just had their first dance to Father John Misty’s “Real Love Baby.” I told him, “I think they’re gonna make it.”

This standalone single released in July is a simple, sappy love song. There’s little fuss. Just a smooth melody and Josh Tillman (aka Father John Misty) spilling his heart:

“I’m in love, I’m alive
I belong to the stars and sky
Let’s forget who we are for one night
We’re not animals baby
It’s the people who lie”

It’s actually a lot like being stupidly in love. The song is soaked in sunshine and optimism, and there’s nothing there to distract you from that.

Pavo Pavo – “Ran Ran Run”

Tonight I’m going to see Allen Tate – lead male singer from folk-rock outfit San Fermin – play a solo show at World Cafe Live in Philadelphia. Pavo Pavo will be opening for him, so I decided to check them out.

As it turns out, members of the five-piece from Brooklyn have “worked closely” in the past with San Fermin and a number of other highly regarded musicians on the indie scene. That list includes co-producers of Pavo Pavo’s debut album Young Narrator in The Breakers Sam Cohen (Yellowbirds) and Dan Molad (Lucius).

“Ran Ran Run” opens the record in whimsical fashion. Eliza Bags‘ vocals are hazy and almost distant. She could totally moonlight as the narrator of your dreams. I’m gonna go ahead and steal this description from a Stereogum review because it’s perfect: “Pavo Pavo makes weightless pop music that sounds like it was beamed down from a glimmering utopian future.”

-Mike Still

