Feeling stuck in your old playlists and looking for some inspiration? Check out This Just In, a Spotify playlist I’ll release each Friday of songs that caught my ear. Here’s a quick sampling of this week’s:

Blood Orange – “Best to You”

If you browse through various 2016 best-of lists, you’re bound to find Blood Orange‘s Freetown Sound near the top of most of them. The album has been hailed as a deeply personal account of a black man’s experience in a world that keeps putting him down. Devonté Hynes – who uses Blood Orange as a pseudonym – takes us deep into his creative process during this interview with Pitchfork. On “Best to You,” Hynes steps aside and lets guest vocalist Empress Of steal the show.

Lee Fields & The Expressions – “Precious Love”

I got a text from a close friend this past week, alerting me that Lee Fields & The Expressions would be coming to Union Transfer in the new year. I admittedly hadn’t heard of them, and told my buddy I’d have to do some research. What I found was modern soul with roots deep in Motown and funk. Lee Fields has been at it for more than 40 years. Some of his music begs the listener to get up and dance like a fool. “Precious Love” urges you to grab your loved ones and hold them tight.

Post Animal – “When I Get Home”

Post Animal received a bump in popularity earlier this year when fans of the hit Netflix show Stranger Things discovered that Joe Keery – the guy who plays archetypal 80s jerk, Steve Harrington – is also in a band. Many have said that the psych-rock group from Chicago sound a lot like Tame Impala, and they’re not wrong. Post Animal released its debut album – Post Animal Perform the Most Curious Water Activities – in 2015 and followed up with The Garden Series this year.

-Mike Still

